Refocus.

7 12 2009

A few weeks ago, daddy invited me to his church for a hymn sing.  It was probably the best time I’ve had in church in a long while, and the whole evening was so nice.  It was great just to do something different.

Daddy’s church is a lot smaller than what I’ve grown used to.  The church where I attend now has about 900 people in its sanctuary throughout any given weekend.  Daddy’s church had about 50.  Wooden pews, and families crammed together.  Nothing but a piano and three ladies with a microphone, standing in front of the congregation and leading us all in hymns.  It was very simple, and very nice.  It felt homey, and it felt focused. 

I love my church.  I adore it.  But sometimes I feel like I get so distracted by the lights and the noise that I lose track of what I’m really supposed to be worshipping while I’m there.  It was nice to get away, just for one night, and to refocus.  Funny how things can look so different when you just take a step back…  The evening made me want to find other ways to refocus my faith.